About

My Backgroundlilsadie

I am originally from the South Wales valleys and I stayed in my homeland to complete my first degree at Cardiff University. There I did an MPhys in Astrophysics. While doing my undergrad I also worked at the local science discovery centre, Techniquest  as an explainer and planetarium presenter. It was during my time working at the science centre that I discovered a love of talking with the public about science!

Work

I currently work full time at a University where I did my PhD in Radio Astronomy.

I completed my PhD in 2012 and since then I have been employed in Outreach and Public Engagement in astronomy . This job involves managing astronomy outreach and public engagement activities from the Physics and Astronomy department, I manage events both on campus and at local schools and colleges.

stand-up Comedy

I have had a bit of a hiatus from stand-up but hoping to get back into it soon…

I was part of the second cohort of the Science Showoff Talent Factory in 2018 after I performed my first comedy set at Bright Club in Southampton in May 2017. I absolutely loved it and have since presented ‘stand up’ sets at a variety of locations including the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, London and Salisbury.

triathlon

My main way of keeping fit at the moment is triathlon training. I’ve recently signed up to my first olympic distance triathlon which is in Sept 2020.

Luckily this triathlon is in a pool as I am not the best at open water swimming.

Roller Derby

IMG_4231

I also play roller derby. I play on the B Team with the Portsmouth Roller Wenches. My roller derby name is ‘Shady Supernova’, you can read my roller derby love story here.

 Travelling

thumb_IMG_7010_1024

I am very lucky in that both my PhD and my current job have given me MANY opportunities to travel across the world. 

In the last three years I have been to Costa Rica, Japan, Peru and Svalbard. One of my most favourite adventures so far was a 5 day trek in the ‘Lost City’ in Santa Marta, Colombia, which I did after attending a conference in Medellin. My trip advisor review of the trek is here.

My most recent adventure was to Svalbard, Norway to observe the Aurora. I have also been to Chile for an observing trip to La Silla with Dr Charlotte Angus for ePESSTO. We went to San Pedro in the North of Chile and then Patagonia in the South.

Spanish

I recently started learning Spanish while volunteering for 4 weeks in Manuel Antonio in Costa Rica. I have kept up my learning on Duolingo and by attending evening classes at the University.

writing

I have recently started an online course in creative writing and I am making an effort to try to write more; if you want to read my latest blog post go here.

Reading

download
book

I love reading feminist, science fiction, historical fiction and autographical books.

If you want to see what I am reading at the moment check out my Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.